Minutes of the Community Design Commission Meeting July 28, 2021 7:00 p.m. Remote Participation

A recording of this meeting is available on the Village of Oak Park Website: https://www.oak-park.us/your-government/citizen-commissions/commission-tv

Community Design Commission Meeting called to order at 7:12 p.m. and roll was called. A quorum was present. Village Planner Failor read into the record the Covid-19 statement.

Attendees: Chair: Juan Betancur, Commissioners: C. Scott Smith, Cynthia Ross, Jonathan Kirk, Julie Kuhn, Richard Katz

Absent: Commissioners Cindy Wong, Nick Sinadinos, and Jason Bergwerff

Also present: Craig Failor, Village Planner, Michael Bruce, Zoning Administrator and Trustee Ravi Parakkat.

Non-Agenda Public Comment: None

Minutes: June 23, 2021- Commissioner Katz moved to approve the minutes. Commissioner Ross seconded. A roll call vote was taken and the minutes were approved unanimously as submitted as follows;

Katz- Yes
Ross- Yes
Kuhn – Yes
Kirk – Yes
Smith - Yes
Chair Betancur – Yes

Public Hearing(s); Sitting as the Design Review Commission.

812 Madison Street; Sugar Beet Co-op is seeking a variation from Section 7-7-15 (C) (1) of the Village of Oak Park Sign Code, which requires that permanent window signs affixed to or painted on the inside of a window shall occupy no more than twenty-five percent (25%) of the surface of each window area, in order to affix new window graphics that would cover between approximately 26% to 94% of the surface of multiple window areas.

The Commission discussed the design elements of the proposed signs and relative to the variations. The commission was mixed on their review. The majority liked the design and felt the colors provided a lively view against a simple building façade. Others felt the window coverage percentage required in the sign code should be adhered to and that the graphics were visually busy.

A motion to approve the sign variances was made by Commissioner Katz and seconded by Commissioner Ross. A roll call vote was taken as follows:

Katz- Yes Ross- Yes Kuhn — No Kirk — Yes Smith - No Chair Betancur - Yes

Other Business

Cavalcade of Pride: Village Planner Failor indicated that only three commissioners had submitted their first-round picks. There is still time for first and second round pick over the next two months. Discussion ensued regarding reevaluating the process for next year's awards process.

Reports – none.

Trustee Parakkat complemented the commission on their discussion of the sign variance.

Adjournment - Commissioner Katz moved to adjourn the meeting. It was seconded by Commissioner Kuhn. The meeting adjourned by Roll Call at 8:18 p.m. with the following;

Katz – Yes Kuhn- Yes Ross- Yes Kirk – Yes Smith - Yes Chair Betancur – Yes

Prepared by: Craig Failor, Staff Liaison