

2011 Public Health Awards

Fitzsimmons Award Winners: Each year, as part of Public Health Week, the Oak Park Department of Public Health Department and Board of Health solicit nominations for the annual *Fitzsimmons Award*, honoring those individuals or organizations who have worked to improve the health of the community. This year, twenty-one individuals and four organizations have been honored for their work in keeping Oak Park healthy. The Fitzsimmons Awards for exceptional contributions to the health of Oak Park were given to:

Ann E. Vogel MD, for volunteering monthly at the PADS shelter clinic, caring for homeless individuals and families.

Dr Marianne Bender, for volunteering her podiatry expertise every 6-8 weeks, caring for homeless individuals and families

Lisa Lowry, LCSW, of the Parent Action Committee for Prevention of Teen Drug Use, for leading and training facilitators for the Parent Cafés.

Community Group Addressing Teen Alcohol and Substance Abuse, for engaging law enforcement, religious groups and all facets of the community to come together to use best practices to educate parents and children on the dangers of alcohol and drugs

Rosa Choi, MD, for her dedication to a healthy community and for providing counseling and treatment to teens on health issues.

Jan Pate, Village Trustee, for her service as liaison to the Board of Health, as a communicator and advocate for public health.

Senator Kimberly Lightford, for championing numerous public health initiatives in the Illinois State Senate, including Medicaid coverage for mental health.

Ray Johnson, Village Trustee, for his leadership in communicating to the Village Board of Trustees topics regarding men's health issues.

Senator Don Harmon, Assistant Majority Leader of the Illinois State Senate, for his advocacy for public health issues.

Robert Campbell, Supervisory Counselor and Unit Manager of the opiate substitution program at Hines VA, for his service to numerous veterans from the Oak Park Vet Center.

Deno Andrews, retiring commissioner of the Board of Health, for his work on developing recommendations for consideration by the Village Board in anticipation of a repeal of a handgun ban repeal legislation.

lvy Lloyd, Hines VA Hospital and Operation Enduring Freedom, for her work which impacted the lives of thousands of veterans and their families.

Gary Sigman MD, Certified Adolescent Medicine Specialist, for his work with patients with body image disturbances and eating disorders, educating them on the adverse metabolic effects the conditions may have on the human body.

The Volunteer Commission and Friends of the Market (Oak Park Farmers' Market), for ensuring that this seasonal community treasure continues to provide a generous harvest of locally grown produce while also offering a wonderful community building event that encourages residents and families to celebrate fresh air and fresh food.

Reggie Moore, for generously volunteering his time and talents as a youth mentor and coach, promoting physical fitness, encouraging healthy lifestyles and being a role model for Oak Park residents of all ages

Deborah Pavlak, Registered Nurse/Certified Infection Control professional at Rush Oak Park Hospital, for her unwavering dedication to promoting a safe and healthy environment for both patients and employees at Rush OP Hospital.

Anthony Spillie, LCSW, Hines VA Hospital, for his efforts to restore hope to Oak Park veterans by connecting them with local resources to assist in the development of new skills and successful acclimation within the community.

Sarah's Inn "Step Back" Program at OPRFHS (facilitator Juliet Yera), for providing the entire freshman class with a secure setting in which to examine critical teen issues and discuss the behavioral strategies that will make OPRFHS a safer and more productive environment.

The West Cook YMCA, for being a consistent positive role model for the community, using creative messaging and innovative programming to keep residents of all ages enthusiastic and actively engaged in the pursuit of health and fitness.

James Kelly, Oak Park resident and community activist, for his efforts on behalf of men's health issues and his labors rallying the Barrie Park community to successfully press for healthy environmental remediation in their neighborhood

Sharon M. Helman, MBA, Director at Hines VA Hospital, for helping to redesign the medical delivery system which ensures that all veterans and active duty troops, including many Oak Park residents, have access to effective and comprehensive primary, tertiary and specialty care services.

Thomas Rains, R. Ph, owner of Sears Pharmacy, for his commitment to providing Oak Park residents with excellent customer care and comprehensive services that ensure easy access to prescriptions and patient counseling.

David Barthwell, MD, Psychiatrist/ Addictionologist, Hines VA Hospital, for his compassionate and comprehensive care for all those in the local community struggling with addiction issues.

David Boulanger, Supervisor, Oak Park Township, for his positive leadership and resolve addressing the specific psychosocial needs of Oak Park youth and senior populations.

Representative Lashawn Ford, Illinois House of Representatives, for his stalwart efforts to champion legislative health initiatives to combat childhood obesity and for his active participation in Oak Park programs that promote health, fitness and well being for all constituents.

Johnson Awards: The Oak Park Board of Health and Department of Public Health annually present the Johnson's Restaurant Award to Oak Park restaurants that excel in food service sanitation. Recognized for their high level of food sanitation in 2010 were:

Five Guys Burger and Fries
Seattles Best Coffee
Starbucks Coffee, #13342
Oberweis Dairy
Subway Sandwiches and Salads, 208 Lake Street
Starbucks Coffee, #230
Domino's Pizza
Yogo Station
Golden Lamb
Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich Shop
Kentucky Fried Chicken

Named in memory of Oak Park's first lunch room which began operation at 124 Lake St. in the early 1890's, the Johnson's Restaurant Award is part of the Health Department's ongoing incentive program to encourage restaurants to consistently meet or exceed mandated responsibilities in providing safe food.

To be eligible for the award, restaurants must have an average score of 85 or more (of 100 possible) points on routine Health Department sanitary inspections over a two-year period. The inspections cover all phases of food handling from receipt of supplies to service as well as facilities, equipment and housekeeping. In addition, the restaurants must have had a minimum of 3 routine inspections over the two year period and be classified as an IDPH Category I or II facility as defined by the Illinois Department of Public Health Local Health Protection Grant Rules.

2011 is the 26th year that the Johnson's Restaurant Awards have been given. ###