The Village of Oak Park | 123 Madison St.  Oak Park, IL 60302 |

Main menu


Community awards celebrate stewardship

Dec. 14, 2017 - More than 75 individuals, organizations and businesses were recognized at the Village of Oak Park's annual community awards ceremony Dec. 13 at the Nineteenth Century Club.

The awards offer an opportunity for the Historic Preservation Commission, Environment & Energy Commission, Community Design Commision and Disability Access Commission to recognize citizens for their commitment to protecting Oak Park's heritage and making the Village a vibrant place for residents and visitors alike.

Eight Preservation Awards were handed out by the Historic Preservation Commission. Included among the winners were the Unity Temple Unitatiran Universalist Congregation for its highly acclaimed restoration of the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Unity Temple and the Historical Society of Oak Park and River Forest for its restoriation of the old fire house at 129 Lake Street that now houses the Oak Park River Forest Museum. 

Also during the ceremony, Oak Park's Environment & Energy Commssion distributed seven Green Awards, the Community Design Commission recognized 27 Cavalcade of Pride Award winners and the Disability Access Commssion present four Disability Access Awards.

Click on each of the award categories below for a list of this year's award winners.


Click here for the 2016 community award winners.